Cultural Preservation

Volunteers Working in Black Point Historic Gardens
Events
Tue, Nov 19 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Nov 26 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Dec 03 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Dec 10 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Dec 17 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Dec 24 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Dec 31 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jan 07 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jan 14 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jan 21 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jan 28 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Feb 04 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Feb 11 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Feb 18 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Feb 25 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Mar 03 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Mar 10 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Mar 17 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Mar 24 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Mar 31 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Apr 07 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Apr 14 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Apr 21 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Apr 28 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, May 05 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, May 12 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, May 19 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, May 26 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jun 02 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jun 09 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jun 16 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jun 23 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jun 30 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jul 07 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jul 14 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jul 21 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Jul 28 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Aug 04 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Aug 11 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Aug 18 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Aug 25 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Sep 01 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Sep 08 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Sep 15 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Sep 22 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Sep 29 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Oct 06 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Oct 13 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Oct 20 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Oct 27 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Nov 03 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Nov 10 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Nov 17 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Nov 24 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Dec 01 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Dec 08 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Dec 15 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Dec 22 9:00am-12:00pm
Tue, Dec 29 9:00am-12:00pm
Black Point Meeting Location
Help us restore the long-neglected gardens of East Black Point, a spectacular park site tucked away above the bustling San Francisco waterfront.
Eloy Martinez, third from right, at an event on Alcatraz.
Gateways Article
On Nov. 20, 1969, a group of Native Americans set up camp on Alcatraz Island in nonviolent protest, claiming it as Indian Land under the Treaty of Fort Laramie (1868). Eloy Martinez was one of them.
Alcatraz Island
Article
At daybreak on Indigenous People’s Day 2019, in commemoration of 50th anniversary of the 1969 Occupation of Alcatraz, the Bay Area indigenous community hosted the first-ever canoe trip around the island. Starting from the Aquatic Park Historic District, the flotilla of canoes were powered by communities and families from across...
Pole surrounded by a knitted American flag at Fort Point National Historic Site
Article
Standing at Fort Point, surrounded by these totems, was a reminder of our weekly community volunteer programs where we are hoping to create a space to honor native people, and all the migrant cultures that represent the Bay Area.
Volunteers participating in a beach cleanup
Events
Stinson Beach Parking Lot
Help restore and maintain the Stinson Beach shoreline.
Volunteers participating in a beach cleanup
Events
Rodeo Beach/Fort Cronkhite parking lot
Help restore and maintain the Rodeo Beach shoreline.
Ramaytush Ohlone in a tule boat in the San Francisco Bay, 1816.
Article
Each day I spend with my peers at the Parks Conservancy, and with our passionate and vital cast of volunteers, I endeavor to remember the people who shaped, shared and enshrined these lands and waters.
Woman on trail at Lands End
Our Work
Ongoing
A number of major revitalization projects at Lands End have restored important habitats, improved forest health, opened vistas, created overlooks, enhanced trail experiences, and built a new visitor center.
Volunteers Working in Black Point Historic Gardens
Events
Sat, Nov 16 9:00am-12:00pm
Sat, Dec 21 9:00am-12:00pm
Black Point Meeting Location
Help us restore the long-neglected gardens of East Black Point, a spectacular park site tucked away above the bustling San Francisco waterfront.
Volunteer on Alcatraz Island
Events
Fri, Nov 15 8:00am-12:00pm
Wed, Nov 20 8:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Nov 22 8:00am-12:00pm
Wed, Nov 27 8:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Nov 29 8:00am-12:00pm
Wed, Dec 04 8:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Dec 06 8:00am-12:00pm
Wed, Dec 11 8:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Dec 13 8:00am-12:00pm
Wed, Dec 18 8:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Dec 20 8:00am-12:00pm
Alcatraz Gardens
Help restore and maintain gardens once tended by the island’s military and penitentiary residents—add life, color, and vibrancy to the Rock.