Cultural Preservation

Ramaytush Ohlone in a tule boat in the San Francisco Bay, 1816.
Article
Each day I spend with my peers at the Parks Conservancy, and with our passionate and vital cast of volunteers, I endeavor to remember the people who shaped, shared and enshrined these lands and waters.
Events
Thu, Feb 14 10:00am-1:00pm
Thu, Mar 14 10:00am-1:00pm
Thu, Apr 11 10:00am-1:00pm
Stinson Beach Parking Lot
Help restore and maintain the Stinson Beach shoreline.
Woman on trail at Lands End
Our Work
Ongoing
A number of major revitalization projects at Lands End have restored important habitats, improved forest health, opened vistas, created overlooks, enhanced trail experiences, and built a new visitor center.
Volunteers Working in Black Point Historic Gardens
Events
Sat, Mar 16 9:00am-12:00pm
Sat, Apr 20 9:00am-12:00pm
Sat, May 18 9:00am-12:00pm
Black Point Meeting Location
Help us restore the long-neglected gardens of East Black Point, a spectacular park site tucked away above the bustling San Francisco waterfront.
Youth Volunteering on Alcatraz Island
Events
Sat, Feb 23 8:00am-11:00am
Sat, Mar 30 8:00am-11:00am
Sat, Apr 27 8:00am-11:00am
Alcatraz Historic Garden - Officer's Row
Come as a family to volunteer in the beautiful Alcatraz gardens! This program is open to families with kids who are ages 10 and up.
Volunteer on Alcatraz Island
Events
Wed, Jan 30 8:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Feb 01 8:00am-12:00pm
Wed, Feb 06 8:00am-12:00pm
Alcatraz Historic Garden - Officer's Row
Help restore and maintain gardens once tended by the island’s military and penitentiary residents—add life, color, and vibrancy to the Rock.
Golden Gate Maintenance Volunteers at Ocean Beach
Events
Fri, Mar 08 9:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Apr 12 9:00am-12:00pm
Fri, May 10 9:00am-12:00pm
Ocean Beach, Stairwell 17
Help restore and maintain historic landscapes and cultural resources along the shoreline of San Francisco.
Presidio Volunteer
Events
Fri, Jan 25 9:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Feb 01 9:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Feb 08 9:00am-12:00pm
Presidio Main Post Transit Center
Help tend to the health of the Presidio’s historic forests, as well as repair and maintain the park trails and pathways.
Nike Missle Site Volunteers
Events
Fri, Feb 15 9:30am-12:30pm
Fri, Mar 15 9:30am-12:30pm
Fri, Apr 19 9:30am-12:30pm
Nike Missile Site
Help restore and maintain the historic Nike Missile Site in the Marin Headlands.
Alcatraz
Washington Post

Gardens of Alcatraz tours allow visitors to stroll grounds once cultivated by convicts.