Cultural Preservation

Ramaytush Ohlone in a tule boat in the San Francisco Bay, 1816.
Article
Each day I spend with my peers at the Parks Conservancy, and with our passionate and vital cast of volunteers, I endeavor to remember the people who shaped, shared and enshrined these lands and waters.
Woman on trail at Lands End
Our Work
Ongoing
A number of major revitalization projects at Lands End have restored important habitats, improved forest health, opened vistas, created overlooks, enhanced trail experiences, and built a new visitor center.
Volunteers Working in Black Point Historic Gardens
Events
Sat, May 18 9:00am-12:00pm
Sat, Jun 15 9:00am-12:00pm
Sat, Jul 20 9:00am-12:00pm
Black Point Meeting Location
Help us restore the long-neglected gardens of East Black Point, a spectacular park site tucked away above the bustling San Francisco waterfront.
Golden Gate Maintenance Volunteers at Ocean Beach
Events
Fri, Apr 12 9:00am-12:00pm
Fri, May 10 9:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Jun 14 9:00am-12:00pm
Ocean Beach, Stairwell 17
Help restore and maintain historic landscapes and cultural resources along the shoreline of San Francisco.
Presidio Volunteer
Events
Fri, Mar 29 9:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Apr 05 9:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Apr 12 9:00am-12:00pm
Presidio Main Post Transit Center
Help tend to the health of the Presidio’s historic forests, as well as repair and maintain the park trails and pathways.
Nike Missle Site Volunteers
Events
Fri, Apr 19 9:30am-12:30pm
Fri, May 17 9:30am-12:30pm
Fri, Jun 21 9:30am-12:30pm
Nike Missile Site
Help restore and maintain the historic Nike Missile Site in the Marin Headlands.
Youth Volunteering on Alcatraz Island
Events
Sat, Mar 30 8:00am-11:00am
Sat, Apr 27 8:00am-11:00am
Sat, Jun 29 8:00am-11:00am
Alcatraz Historic Garden - Officer's Row
Come as a family to volunteer in the beautiful Alcatraz gardens! This program is open to families with kids who are ages 10 and up.
Volunteer on Alcatraz Island
Events
Wed, Mar 27 8:00am-12:00pm
Fri, Mar 29 8:00am-12:00pm
Wed, Apr 03 8:00am-12:00pm
Alcatraz Historic Garden - Officer's Row
Help restore and maintain gardens once tended by the island’s military and penitentiary residents—add life, color, and vibrancy to the Rock.
Alcatraz
Washington Post

Gardens of Alcatraz tours allow visitors to stroll grounds once cultivated by convicts.

June 18, 2013
The Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy presented its vision for the Presidio Exchange (PX) at Crissy Field to a packed house in the Presidio on June 17, 2013, the first opportunity for public input and feedback on the best use of the former Commissary site in the Golden Gate National Parks.