Immigrant Yarn Project at Fort Point

Share

Sun, Mar 24 10:00am-5:00pm

Immigrant Yarn Project is presented at Fort Point by Enactivist in partnership with the Golden Gate National Recreation Area and the Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy through the Art in the Parks program.

Immigrant Yarn Project features knitted and crocheted patches of yarn made by over 600 contributors from across the country representing generations of immigrants from every corner of the world — and including contributions from homeless communities, seniors, students, LGBTQ, Native Americans, and even a Former Secretary of State.

Led by Founder and Creative Director of Enactivist, Cindy Weil, the knitted and crocheted contributions have been stitched together into sculptures that will be installed inside Fort Point. Each submission, both big and small, carries a personal immigration story, made into visual art by the colors and patterns, flags designs, words, or symbols. They seek to represent families, heritage, and the journeys, whether recent or generations ago, that brought these knitters and crocheters to the United States of America. The project embodies and celebrates both our shared immigrant story and our citizenry in a nation composed of diverse backgrounds, families, politics, faiths, identities, and ideas.

To learn more about the Immigrant Yarn Project and Enactivist, please visit Enactivist.org.

Long Ave & Marine Dr
94129 San Francisco , CA

Audience Type

Upcoming Event Dates

Sun, 03/24/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Fri, 03/29/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Sat, 03/30/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Sun, 03/31/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Fri, 04/05/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Sat, 04/06/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Sun, 04/07/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Fri, 04/12/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Sat, 04/13/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Sun, 04/14/2019 - 10:00-17:00

Past Event Dates

Fri, 03/22/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Sun, 03/17/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Sat, 03/16/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Fri, 03/15/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Sun, 03/10/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Sat, 03/09/2019 - 10:00-17:00
Fri, 03/08/2019 - 10:00-17:00

You Can Ensure That Our Parks Will Always Welcome All

More than ever, we need public lands where communities can come together