Marin Historic Landscape and Maintenance: Nike Missile Site

Share

Fri, Nov 15 9:30am-12:30pm
Add to Calendar
Nike Missle Site Volunteers

When: 3rd Friday of the month, 9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Where: Nike Missile Site

Join us in helping to preserve the historic Nike Missile Site! We are located in the beautiful Marin Headlands with spectacular views overlooking Rodeo Beach and historic Fort Cronkhite. In an effort to restore this site back to its peak operational condition of 1964, many hands are needed for vegetation removal, painting historic features, and general upkeep of the site. As an added bonus, you get the chance to join behind-the scenes tours!

Groups

Groups of five or more may require special arrangements and must be confirmed in advance. Visit our Groups volunteer page to learn more.

Age, Skills, What to Bring:

  • Volunteers ages 10 and up are welcome. Read our Youth Policy Guidelines (PDF) for youth under the age of 15.
  • Bring your completed Volunteer Agreement Form (PDF). Volunteers under the age of 18 must have the parent/guardian approval section signed.
  • We'll be working rain or shine. Wear clothes that can get dirty. Long pants and closed-toe shoes are required. Bring layers for changing weather and rain gear if necessary.
  • Bring a personal water bottle and sunscreen.
  • No experience necessary. Training and tools will be provided. Fulfills community service requirements.

The Golden Gate National Parks Volunteer Program is a cooperative parkwide effort of the Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy, the National Park Service, and the Presidio Trust.

Event Type

Audience Type

Cost

$0

Upcoming Event Dates

Add to Calendar
Fri, 11/15/2019 9:30AM-12:30PM
Add to Calendar
Fri, 12/20/2019 9:30AM-12:30PM

Past Event Dates

Fri, 10/18/2019 9:30AM-12:30PM
Fri, 09/20/2019 9:30AM-12:30PM
Fri, 07/19/2019 9:30AM-12:30PM
Fri, 05/17/2019 9:30AM-12:30PM
Fri, 04/19/2019 9:30AM-12:30PM
Fri, 03/15/2019 9:30AM-12:30PM
Fri, 02/15/2019 9:30AM-12:30PM
Fri, 12/21/2018 9:30AM-12:30PM
Fri, 11/16/2018 9:30AM-12:30PM
Fri, 10/19/2018 9:30AM-12:30PM

Contact us!

goga_maintenance_vip@nps.gov 

For general questions regarding volunteer programs, contact us at (415) 561-3044 or volunteer@parksconservancy.org

You can also view the Volunteer FAQ page for more information.

Help Conserve Coastal Parks!

We need your help to conserve coastal parks, build trails, protect endangered species, and introduce kids to the wonders of nature.