History

Ruins of Adolph Sutro's Home at Sutro Heights Park
Lands End Lookout Visitor Center
Join John on a scenic and historic two-hour walk as he brings Sutro’s “Pleasure Grounds” alive and recreates the area San Franciscans long considered their very own seaside wonderland.
Ruins of Adolph Sutro's Home at Sutro Heights Park
Lands End Lookout Visitor Center
Join John on a scenic and historic two-hour walk as he brings Sutro’s “Pleasure Grounds” alive and recreates the area San Franciscans long considered their very own seaside wonderland.
Stairway down to Sutro Baths
Cliff House
Join historian John Martini on a two-hour walk and learn the history of San Francisco’s famous Cliff House and the ruins of Sutro Baths.
Stairway down to Sutro Baths
Cliff House
Join historian John Martini on a two-hour walk and learn the history of San Francisco’s famous Cliff House and the ruins of Sutro Baths.
Fort Point National Historic Site underneath the Golden Gate Bridge
Events
Fort Point Entrance
Join our Park Rangers in learning Fort Point's History in this 15 minute long talk. The program is accessible. The times of the program are 11:30 a.m., 1:30 p.m., and 2:30 p.m.
Four National Park Service rangers with faces painted stand around on Dia de los Muertos
Events
Presidio Tunnel Tops
Join National Park Rangers and participate in two days of Fiesta de Arte del Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) family-friendly activities in the Presidio that include pintura de cara (facepainting), fiores de papal (paper flower making), and pinta calaca (skull painting and decorating).
Four National Park Service rangers with faces painted stand around on Dia de los Muertos
Events
Presidio Tunnel Tops
Join National Park Rangers and participate in two days of Fiesta de Arte del Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) family-friendly activities in the Presidio that include pintura de cara (facepainting), fiores de papal (paper flower making), and pinta calaca (skull painting and decorating).
A Golden Gate National Recreation Area Park Ranger leads a discussion at Presidio Tunnel Tops Campfire Circle.
Events
Mon, May 27 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, May 28 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, May 29 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, May 30 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, May 31 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jun 01 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jun 02 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Jun 03 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Jun 04 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Jun 05 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Jun 06 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jun 07 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jun 08 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jun 09 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Jun 10 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Jun 11 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Jun 12 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Jun 13 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jun 14 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jun 15 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jun 16 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Jun 17 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Jun 18 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Jun 19 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Jun 20 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jun 21 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jun 22 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jun 23 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Jun 24 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Jun 25 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Jun 26 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Jun 27 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jun 28 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jun 29 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jun 30 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Jul 01 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Jul 02 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Jul 03 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Jul 04 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jul 05 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jul 06 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jul 07 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Jul 08 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Jul 09 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Jul 10 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Jul 11 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jul 12 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jul 13 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jul 14 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Jul 15 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Jul 16 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Jul 17 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Jul 18 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jul 19 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jul 20 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jul 21 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Jul 22 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Jul 23 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Jul 24 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Jul 25 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jul 26 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jul 27 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jul 28 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Jul 29 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Jul 30 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Jul 31 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Aug 01 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Aug 02 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Aug 03 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Aug 04 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Aug 05 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Aug 06 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Aug 07 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Aug 08 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Aug 09 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Aug 10 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Aug 11 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Aug 12 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Aug 13 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Aug 14 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Aug 15 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Aug 16 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Aug 17 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Aug 18 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Aug 19 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Aug 20 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Aug 21 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Aug 22 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Aug 23 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Aug 24 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Aug 25 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Aug 26 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Aug 27 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Aug 28 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Aug 29 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Aug 30 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Aug 31 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Sep 01 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Sep 02 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Sep 03 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Sep 04 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Sep 05 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Sep 06 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Sep 07 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Sep 08 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Sep 09 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Sep 10 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Sep 11 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Sep 12 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Sep 13 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Sep 14 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Sep 15 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Sep 16 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Sep 17 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Sep 18 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Sep 19 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Sep 20 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Sep 21 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Sep 22 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Sep 23 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Sep 24 4:00pm-4:30pm
Wed, Sep 25 4:00pm-4:30pm
Thu, Sep 26 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Sep 27 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Sep 28 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Sep 29 4:00pm-4:30pm
Mon, Sep 30 4:00pm-4:30pm
Tue, Oct 01 4:00pm-4:30pm
Presidio Tunnel Tops
Join National Park Service rangers for free campfire talks at Presidio Tunnel Tops every Friday to Monday at 4 pm through Labor Day.​​
On an introductory park tour for new staff, the sky offered this most glorious welcome at Point Bonita
Events
Online/Virtual
Join staff from the National Park Service and the Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy to understand the complex connection between the LGBTQ community and the military in the Bay Area. From a population boom to discriminatory practices, the military had a lasting impact on the growth of the LGBTQ+ community in the region.
Alcatraz Historic Prisons
Events
Alcatraz Visitor Center
Join Williams and Alcatraz Park Ranger Jackson Lam in a virtual discussion about mass incarceration in America.