History

Fort Point National Historic Site underneath the Golden Gate Bridge
Events
Sat, Nov 26 1:30pm-Sun, Nov 27 1:45pm
Sun, Nov 27 1:30pm-Mon, Nov 28 1:45pm
Fri, Dec 02 1:30pm-Sat, Dec 03 1:45pm
Sat, Dec 03 1:30pm-Sun, Dec 04 1:45pm
Sun, Dec 04 1:30pm-Mon, Dec 05 1:45pm
Fri, Dec 09 1:30pm-Sat, Dec 10 1:45pm
Sat, Dec 10 1:30pm-Sun, Dec 11 1:45pm
Sun, Dec 11 1:30pm-Mon, Dec 12 1:45pm
Fri, Dec 16 1:30pm-Sat, Dec 17 1:45pm
Sat, Dec 17 1:30pm-Sun, Dec 18 1:45pm
Sun, Dec 18 1:30pm-Mon, Dec 19 1:45pm
Fri, Dec 23 1:30pm-Sat, Dec 24 1:45pm
Sat, Dec 24 1:30pm-Sun, Dec 25 1:45pm
Sun, Dec 25 1:30pm-Mon, Dec 26 1:45pm
Fri, Dec 30 1:30pm-Sat, Dec 31 1:45pm
Entrance
Join our Park Rangers in learning Fort Point's History in this 15 minute long talk. The program is accessible. The times of the program are 11:30am and 1:30pm.
Four National Park Service rangers with faces painted stand around on Dia de los Muertos
Events
Presidio Tunnel Tops
Join National Park Rangers and participate in two days of Fiesta de Arte del Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) family-friendly activities in the Presidio that include pintura de cara (facepainting), fiores de papal (paper flower making), and pinta calaca (skull painting and decorating).
Four National Park Service rangers with faces painted stand around on Dia de los Muertos
Events
Presidio Tunnel Tops
Join National Park Rangers and participate in two days of Fiesta de Arte del Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) family-friendly activities in the Presidio that include pintura de cara (facepainting), fiores de papal (paper flower making), and pinta calaca (skull painting and decorating).
A Golden Gate National Recreation Area Park Ranger leads a discussion at Presidio Tunnel Tops Campfire Circle.
Events
Fri, Nov 25 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Nov 26 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Nov 27 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Dec 02 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Dec 03 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Dec 04 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Dec 09 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Dec 10 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Dec 11 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Dec 16 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Dec 17 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Dec 18 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Dec 23 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Dec 24 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Dec 25 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Dec 30 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Dec 31 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jan 01 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jan 06 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jan 07 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jan 08 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jan 13 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jan 14 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jan 15 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jan 20 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jan 21 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jan 22 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Jan 27 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Jan 28 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Jan 29 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Feb 03 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Feb 04 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Feb 05 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Feb 10 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Feb 11 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Feb 12 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Feb 17 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Feb 18 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Feb 19 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Feb 24 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Feb 25 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Feb 26 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Mar 03 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Mar 04 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Mar 05 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Mar 10 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Mar 11 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Mar 12 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Mar 17 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Mar 18 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Mar 19 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Mar 24 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Mar 25 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Mar 26 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Mar 31 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Apr 01 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Apr 02 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Apr 07 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Apr 08 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Apr 09 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Apr 14 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Apr 15 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Apr 16 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Apr 21 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Apr 22 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Apr 23 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, Apr 28 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, Apr 29 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, Apr 30 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, May 05 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, May 06 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, May 07 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, May 12 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, May 13 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, May 14 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, May 19 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, May 20 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, May 21 4:00pm-4:30pm
Fri, May 26 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sat, May 27 4:00pm-4:30pm
Sun, May 28 4:00pm-4:30pm
Presidio Tunnel Tops
Join National Park Service rangers for free campfire talks at Presidio Tunnel Tops every Friday to Monday at 4 pm through Labor Day.​​
On an introductory park tour for new staff, the sky offered this most glorious welcome at Point Bonita
Events
Online/Virtual
Join staff from the National Park Service and the Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy to understand the complex connection between the LGBTQ community and the military in the Bay Area. From a population boom to discriminatory practices, the military had a lasting impact on the growth of the LGBTQ+ community in the region.
Alcatraz Historic Prisons
Events
Alcatraz Visitor Center
Join Williams and Alcatraz Park Ranger Jackson Lam in a virtual discussion about mass incarceration in America.
Battery Chamberlin at Baker Beach
Events
Battery Chamberlin
How can a 50-ton gun simply disappear? Learn this and other facts while helping load and aim the last operational gun of its kind.
Sunny day at Point Bonita Lighthouse
Events
Lighthouse Trailhead
Join park staff and volunteer docents for a tour down the Point Bonita Trail.
Image of the interior of Fort Point with the lighthouse
Events
Entrance
Join a ranger near the front entrance of Fort Point for a tour! Learn about the soldiers' lives at Fort Point, the fort's unique architecture, the defenses of the Golden Gate and lots more. Tours are scheduled daily at 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. and typically last 30 minutes. Staff availability may affect these tour times, please inquire upon arrival.
Image of the interior of Fort Point with the lighthouse
Events
Entrance
Join a ranger near the front entrance of Fort Point for a tour! Learn about the soldiers' lives at Fort Point, the fort's unique architecture, the defenses of the Golden Gate and lots more. Tours are scheduled daily at 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. and typically last 30 minutes. Staff availability may affect these tour times, please inquire upon arrival.