History

Image of the interior of Fort Point with the lighthouse
Events
Fri, Sep 27 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Sep 28 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Sep 29 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Oct 04 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Oct 05 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Oct 06 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Oct 11 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Oct 12 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Oct 13 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Oct 18 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Oct 19 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Oct 20 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Oct 25 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Oct 26 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Oct 27 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Nov 01 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Nov 02 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Nov 03 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Nov 08 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Nov 09 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Nov 10 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Nov 15 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Nov 16 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Nov 17 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Nov 22 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Nov 23 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Nov 24 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Nov 29 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Nov 30 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Dec 01 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Dec 06 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Dec 07 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Dec 08 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Dec 13 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Dec 14 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Dec 15 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Dec 20 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Dec 21 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Dec 22 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Dec 27 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Dec 28 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Dec 29 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Jan 03 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Jan 04 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Jan 05 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Jan 10 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Jan 11 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Jan 12 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Jan 17 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Jan 18 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Jan 19 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Jan 24 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Jan 25 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Jan 26 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Jan 31 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Feb 01 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Feb 02 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Feb 07 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Feb 08 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Feb 09 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Feb 14 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Feb 15 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Feb 16 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Feb 21 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Feb 22 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Feb 23 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Feb 28 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Feb 29 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Mar 01 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Mar 06 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Mar 07 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Mar 08 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Mar 13 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Mar 14 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Mar 15 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Mar 20 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Mar 21 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Mar 22 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Mar 27 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Mar 28 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Mar 29 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Apr 03 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Apr 04 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Apr 05 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Apr 10 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Apr 11 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Apr 12 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Apr 17 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Apr 18 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Apr 19 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, Apr 24 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, Apr 25 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, Apr 26 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, May 01 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, May 02 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, May 03 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, May 08 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, May 09 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, May 10 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, May 15 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, May 16 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, May 17 3:00pm-3:30pm
Fri, May 22 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sat, May 23 3:00pm-3:30pm
Sun, May 24 3:00pm-3:30pm
Entrance
Join a ranger near the front entrance of Fort Point for a tour! Learn about the soldiers' lives at Fort Point, the fort's unique architecture, the defenses of the Golden Gate and lots more. Tours are scheduled daily at 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. and typically last 30 minutes. Staff availability may affect these tour times, please inquire upon arrival.
Events
Entrance
Come and explore Fort Point, through your lens! Join a park photographer, to learn the basics of photography, and a park ranger to learn the history of the Fort.
Visitors at the Nike Missile Site
Events
Fri, Oct 18 6:30pm-8:00pm
Nike Missile Site
Experience the Nike Missile Launch Site at night with a guided tour from park staff, and delve into the history and operations of an anti-aircraft base.
Alcatraz Historic Prisons
Events
Alcatraz Visitor Center
Join volunteers from the Friends of Civil War Alcatraz for a bi-annual day commemorating life on Fort Alcatraz.
Gun at Black Point Battery in Fort Mason
event
Mon, Nov 18 3:00pm-5:00pm
Fort Mason Flagpole
Explore Fort Mason’s charming walkways and discover the complex history of this tiny military post.
Schooner Alma sailing in the Aquatic Park lagoon
event
Sat, Nov 16 10:00am-12:00pm
Corona Pedro Trailhead
Just a stone’s toss from Fort Mason, join us for a special tour of the interactive exhibits of the Maritime Museum at the San Francisco National Historical Park.
A dark hall leads to a person looking down through a sunny archway on one of Fort Points upper levels
event
Sat, Oct 19 10:00am-12:00pm
Fort Point
Join us at Fort Point for a tour of Fort Point, led by park historian John Martini, to learn about the "fort that never fired a shot in anger".
Image of the interior of Fort Point with the lighthouse
Events
Fri, Sep 27 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Sep 28 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Sep 29 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Oct 04 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Oct 05 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Oct 06 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Oct 11 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Oct 12 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Oct 13 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Oct 18 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Oct 19 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Oct 20 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Oct 25 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Oct 26 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Oct 27 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Nov 01 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Nov 02 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Nov 03 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Nov 08 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Nov 09 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Nov 10 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Nov 15 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Nov 16 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Nov 17 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Nov 22 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Nov 23 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Nov 24 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Nov 29 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Nov 30 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Dec 01 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Dec 06 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Dec 07 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Dec 08 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Dec 13 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Dec 14 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Dec 15 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Dec 20 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Dec 21 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Dec 22 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Dec 27 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Dec 28 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Dec 29 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Jan 03 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Jan 04 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Jan 05 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Jan 10 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Jan 11 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Jan 12 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Jan 17 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Jan 18 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Jan 19 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Jan 24 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Jan 25 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Jan 26 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Jan 31 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Feb 01 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Feb 02 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Feb 07 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Feb 08 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Feb 09 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Feb 14 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Feb 15 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Feb 16 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Feb 21 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Feb 22 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Feb 23 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Feb 28 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Feb 29 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Mar 01 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Mar 06 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Mar 07 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Mar 08 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Mar 13 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Mar 14 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Mar 15 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Mar 20 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Mar 21 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Mar 22 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Mar 27 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Mar 28 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Mar 29 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Apr 03 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Apr 04 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Apr 05 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Apr 10 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Apr 11 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Apr 12 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Apr 17 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Apr 18 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Apr 19 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, Apr 24 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, Apr 25 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, Apr 26 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, May 01 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, May 02 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, May 03 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, May 08 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, May 09 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, May 10 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, May 15 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, May 16 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, May 17 11:00am-11:30am
Fri, May 22 11:00am-11:30am
Sat, May 23 11:00am-11:30am
Sun, May 24 11:00am-11:30am
Entrance
Join a ranger near the front entrance of Fort Point for a tour! Learn about the soldiers' lives at Fort Point, the fort's unique architecture, the defenses of the Golden Gate and lots more. Tours are scheduled daily at 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. and typically last 30 minutes. Staff availability may affect these tour times, please inquire upon arrival.
Fort Funston
Events
Fort Funston Trailhead
Join park historian John Martini on an exploration of Fort Funston and the remains of many of these fortifications lie buried beneath the city’s last large expanse of natural dunes.
Image of the front of the Presidio Visitor Center with the Golden Gate Bridge in the backgrounr
Events
Presidio Officer's Club
The Main Post encompasses more history than another other site within Golden Gate National Recreation Area. Learn about Spanish colonial settlers, 1906 refugees, U.S. Army history from 1846 to 1995, and a dizzying variety of military architecture.